JOINT SPECIAL MEETING OF THE COUNTIES OF BAKER, DESCHUTES, GRANT,

HARNEY, JEFFERSON, LAKE, MALHEUR, WASCO, AND WHEELER

January 6, 2020

A Joint Special Meeting of the Baker County Board of Commissioners, Deschutes County Board of Commissioners, Jefferson County Board of Commissioners, Lake County Board of Commissioners, Wasco County Board of Commissioners, Grant County Court, Harney County Court, Malheur County Court and the Wheeler County Court was held of January 6, 2020 at 2:00 p.m. Mountain Time, at Treasure Valley Community College (TVCC), in Ontario, Oregon; that being the time and place for the meeting as set by the Secretary of State pursuant to ORS 171.060. The sole purpose of the meeting was to appoint a person to fill the vacancy in the Legislative Assembly, State Senate District 30, due to the resignation of Senator Cliff Bentz.

Present at the meeting site were: Baker County: Commissioner Bill Harvey, Commissioner Mark Bennett, and Commissioner Bruce Nichols; Deschutes County: Commissioner Philip Henderson and Commissioner Patti Adair; Grant County: Judge Scott Myers and Commissioner Jim Hamsher; Harney County: Judge Pete Runnels, Commissioner Patty Dorroh, and Commissioner Mark Owens; Jefferson County: Commissioner Mae Huston and Commissioner Kelly Simmelink; and Malheur County: Judge Dan Joyce, Commissioner Don Hodge, and Commissioner Larry Wilson.

Present at the meeting telephonically were: Deschutes County: Commissioner Anthony DeBone; Grant County: Commissioner Sam Palmer; Jefferson County: Commissioner Wayne Fording; Lake County: Commissioner Bradley Winters, James Williams, and Mark Albertson; Wasco County: Commissioner Scott Hege, Commissioner Steve Kramer, and Commissioner Kathy Schwartz; and Wheeler County: Judge N. Lynn Morley and Commissioner Rick Shaffer.

Wheeler County Commissioner Robert Ordway was absent.

The Secretary of State notified the county governing bodies that the nominees chosen to fill the vacancy by the Republican Party precinct committeepersons of State Senate District 30 were: Lynn Findley, Rod Runyon, and Eric Wattenburg; all nominees were present at the Special Meeting.

Pursuant to ORS 171.060, Malheur County Judge Dan Joyce was selected by the Secretary of State as Chair of the meeting; Chair Judge Joyce called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m. Mountain Time, led the group in the Pledge of Allegiance, and announced the purpose of the meeting. An oral roll call was conducted. It was proposed that the manner of vote be an oral vote; the vote of each governing body was recorded and included in the written statement required by ORS 171.060(3).

Each nominee was allotted three (3) minutes to introduce themselves; each member of the governing bodies was allotted one (1) question to ask the nominees with each nominee having two (2) minutes to answer each question; and (2) minutes was allotted to each nominee to summarize their position.

Upon completion of the interviews, Chair Judge Joyce called for an oral vote. Jefferson County Administrator Jeff Rassmusen, Harney County Clerk Derrin (Dag) Robinson, and Malheur County Clerk Gayle Trotter tallied the votes. Chair Judge Joyce orally announced the results for each nominee. The nominee receiving the highest number of votes was Lynn Findley.

The written statement of appointment was signed by all governing body members present at the meeting site; it was noted that the written statement would be forwarded electronically to those participating telephonically for their signatures; and the meeting adjourned. See instrument #2020-0078